Communcation that leaders should avoid

“ I would like to ensure that everyone has an opportunity to meet me. ….”

I would think twice about meeting even if these words come from the God. I smell tremendous attitude in these words and I don’t think it does any good when it comes from the democratically elected PM of a nation. Somehow I felt these words lack humbleness and give a picture of a person who wants to show his position of leadership.

When I read the enclosed news, the first thing that struck me was how leaders forget that they are leaders because of people and followers, they have not come from the sky.  When you are the elected PM of the democratic nation you need to avoid the language that connotes that people are the subject and you are (whatever you think you are).

My intention is not to critise the person or the PM per se or the initiative mentioned in the news item. Actually it is a good initiative and nice way of leveraging social media. However to me it is a lesson as to how leaders need to be careful in their communication. and avoid unpleasant language. I would have drafted these lines as “ I would like to have an opportunity to meet you all”…

3 Responses to Communcation that leaders should avoid

  1. who knows somebody else will be sitting instead of him , also it shows lack of self confidence if he is a leader and not connected and still want to garner more support for what ? remember how BJP’s campaign misfired on lines of connecting ….

  2. g.t.rao says:

    Greetings

    100% agree with you..

    thankx
    gtr

    • Yogendra says:

      100 % Agree, i think it’s not just applicable to PM but to any leader, may in office, at home, at function etc.

      Regards
      Yogendra.

Leave a Reply

